Everything that's on MY mind…

Chicago Rising: This Year in Struggle

Transformative Spaces

I wanted to write a piece about the most powerful moments in Chicago activism this year, but as I reviewed my photos and thought through what I saw and experienced in 2014, I realized that I can’t quite qualify things in those terms. As an organizer, I have a number of biases that are both undeniable and unavoidable, so I’m going to go ahead and clarify from the start that this is simply a look back at actions that moved me, changed me, or burned themselves into my memory – and in some cases, all three.

National Moment of Silence

Photo: Kelly Hayes Photo: Kelly Hayes

Chicago’s installment of the National Moment of Silence was an all hands on deck moment for the radical community in Chicago. Young people from BYP 100 took center stage with a heartbreaking and beautifully creative program, while activists from around the city rallied behind them. The…

View original post 1,063 more words

Leave a Reply

